Madras: through the eyes of an outsider

Madras: through the eyes of an outsider
by Gopalakrishnan Krishnasamy

During my school days, I used to come to Madras once a year, to visit all my relatives who live here. The long journey from Madurai to Madras itself will be exciting. The city was my dream destination. I was always fascinated by the electric trains and the rushing people. It is the common people who made Madras as what it is today. I always see the city with amused and wide-opened eyes. Having heard about the city’s huge theatres from my mom’s perspective, I wish I was born earlier to enjoy at least a show in the Safire Theatre. Although a lot of my childhood trip were filled with my fascination towards train journey, fast-moving crowd, bigger buildings, shopping in the Ranganathan street and, of course, undeniably the Marina Beach, my first major memory regarding ‘Chennai’ is all about Spencer Plaza. It is definitely a 90s kid thing. Probably, the only mall I heard of at that time was Spencer Plaza. I was awed by the maze-like structure and the busy shops. When I moved to Chennai for my studies it started losing its charm and many new malls cropped up. I saw it as an ageing legend still holding its breath and not giving up.

After a long time, I visited Spencer Plaza; it had lost all its glory and the crowd. But, it still is the same Spencer Plaza, which gave me umpteen number of memories. Spencer Plaza holds many of my firsts, one of which is, I had my first, Subway Sandwich there. Those were the icons I hold close to my heart when the name Madras peeps in. Now, the word ‘Madras’ is home. Having settled here for more than 5 years, Sathyam theatre, Sathyam Popcorn, Metro, LIC, 21G, Kannagi statue, Bessy Beach, on and on, became the icons. Icons may change, lifestyle may change, and people we hang out with may change but Madras as an emotion drives the change.

Pilot theatre or Safire complex may not be there, but Kaasi Theatre and Udhayam theatre rules. Spencer Plaza may not be the centre of attraction but Phoenix mall and other malls come to our mind. Madras is not just about the place or a particular sect of people, Madras is the height of inclusivity. It caters to the needs of elitists as well as commoners. A city which gives you a number of icons to connect yourself is nothing short of a legend. Madras is not just about the Filter Coffees, HSBs, cricket matches and so on. It is much more than that. In fact, many of the symbols and icons of Madras are plain stereotypes.

What makes Madras as Madras is the people from all over. Living at a time where each one is termed as an immigrant from neighbouring lands, Madras stands tall in including everyone and making them its own child. Madras never discriminates someone as a ‘Vandheri’. They may be from down south, up north or rather anywhere from the world. It gives you reasons to connect. A guy from Melur and a guy from Viruthunagar get connected easily as neighbours, only in Madras. Madras unites them all. During the times of division, Madras has to be remembered for holding us all together.

P.S: When you talk about food, idly, filter coffee, sambar are some of the terms I hear often and I fail to notice set dosa and vadacurry anywhere, as a symbol of Madras food.

Gopalakrishnan Krishnasamy is a practising marketing professional and an accidental cook. He makes great dosas and watches movies from all over the world.
Photograph by NaGa

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started